Goodnight

 

Throughout my experience in MEDA 101, I have allowed my Remoscope project (talked about in previous posts) to become more and more distorted. Playing with the idea of reminiscing over childhood has brought me to a deeper understanding of the corruption we face as we age. It is such a slow process, we almost don’t even notice it is happening, until one day we realize our lives aren’t pink and blue balloons anymore. Now, things have glitches and are messed up. In this final project, I have used George Lyon’s Poem “Where I’m From” as well as “Goodnight Moon” by Margaret Wise Brown. I chose to use the words of this book to be spoken over my video because it was one of my favorite childhood books and I am intrigued by it’s subtle eerie undertones. I also gathered inspiration from remix culture, and glitch artists such as Nick Briz. The videos I chose to project are taken from an assortment of different places. The heart monitor is actual footage of my fetal monitor when my mother was pregnant with me. This video also contains the first footage of my parents and I after I was born. In here, some of the other more abstract projected videos are taken from my previous remoscope project. Others are simply pictures from my hometown in Texas.

One thought on “Goodnight

Leave a Reply

