Audio Remoscope

In response to “Where I’m From” by George Ella Lyon, I’ve created this sound project as a reflection on the distortion and complexity that follows the seemingly ‘simplistic’ life of a child. I found this project very interesting, as I focused on noises rather than music. Growing up, my father was in a rock band, and spent most of my childhood touring. Surrounded by music, I’ve created it my whole life. It wasn’t until recently that I began toying with the idea of noise versus music… how the combination of a coffee grinder and an elevator is not a song, and yet it conveys a feeling. So then, what is the difference between noise and music? Does all music have to have a melody? Or instruments? Or is it enough to just have sounds found in everyday life? If the definition of music is “vocal or instrumental sounds (or both) combined in such a way as to produce beauty of form, harmony, and expression of emotion”, could that not include sound projects similar to mine? Similar to our development after childhood, the lines become blurry, in many ways, around many things. It is terrifying but also freeing, because we are the ones who get to define what we see in the world around us.

Leave a Reply

